European Site Corporate Site Contact Us

Trauma Advisory Board
Gregory J. Beilman, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery
Medical Director, Surgical Intensive Care Unit
Department of Surgery
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Stephen M. Cohn, MD
Chairman, Department of Surgery
The Dr. Witten B. Russ Professor of Surgery
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas

Larry M. Gentilello, MD
Professor and Chairman Burn/Trauma/Critical Care
Department of Surgery
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Dallas, Texas

Frederick A. Moore, MD
The Methodist Hospital
Head, Division of Surgical Critical Care & Acute Care Surgery
Department of Surgery
Houston, Texas
Lena M. Napolitano, MD
Division Chief, Acute Care Surgery
Department of Surgery
University Hospital
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Avery B. Nathens, MD, PhD, MPH
Division Head, General Surgery & Director of Trauma
St. Michael's Hospital
Toronto, Ontario

Ronald G. Pearl, MD, PhD
Professor and Chairman
Department of Anesthesia
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, California

The InSpectra™ StO2 Tissue Oxygenation Monitor provides a direct, absolute measurement of hemoglobin oxygen saturation in tissue (StO2), providing trauma teams the ability to measure tissue oxygenation and monitor it during resuscitation. It is the only tissue oxygenation monitor designed for trauma environments. The InSpectra StO2 Tissue Oxygenation Monitor uses near infrared light to illuminate tissue, and then analyzes the returned light to produce a quantitative measurement of oxygen saturation in the tissue's microcirculation.

The StO2 Trauma Study researched the role that tissue oxygen saturation monitoring could play in hemorrhagic shock and resuscitation. Study results demonstrate that StO2 measurements less than 75% may indicate serious hypoperfusion in trauma patients and that StO2 functions as well as base deficit in indicating hypoperfusion in trauma patients.